Sure, honey is of course gluten free. And, theoretically, it is suitable for eating on a gluten free weight loss program. However there’s extra to it than merely grabbing some honey off the shelf.
Discover when honey is gluten free and when there is a threat of gluten cross contamination. Get the lowdown on which manufacturers of honey are gluten free, gluten free honey recipes, and extra.
In a nutshell: Is honey gluten free?
As talked about above, in idea, sure, honey is gluten free. However it relies upon closely on the place the honey comes from, what it has been combined with, and the way and the place it has been processed as soon as harvested from the hive.
Typically, uncooked honey isn’t contaminated with gluten, so it is protected for these with gluten intolerance. Nonetheless, some manufacturers of honey might include added substances akin to barley malt extract or wheat syrup that include gluten and render it unsafe should you’re on a gluten free weight loss program.
It’s important you learn ingredient labels fastidiously when searching for meals merchandise, even one thing as seemingly innocuous as honey. In addition to deliberately added substances, honey can have some hidden or unintended gluten contamination from the processing facility, until it is a devoted gluten free website.
In case you have celiac illness or are extraordinarily delicate to cross-contamination with gluten, it is most secure to purchase solely honey licensed gluten free.
Honey is constructed from the nectar of flowers. Honey bees (particularly the forager bees) accumulate the nectar from flowers of their honey stomachs, the place the enzymes within the honey abdomen begin to convert the advanced sugars into easy ones, and retailer it of their honeycombs.
As soon as the abdomen is full, the forager bee returns to the hive and regurgitates the honey the place home bees take over, persevering with the conversion and eradicating as a lot moisture as doable. At this level, they deposit the processed honey right into a honeycomb cell.
Then the bees beat their wings, fanning the honey to extract any remaining moisture. Because the water evaporates, the nectar turns into extra concentrated and finally turns into honey. Then, the honeycomb cell is sealed with wax.
Is honey good for you?
Sure, sparsely, honey is nice for you. Or, when you’ve got a gluten sensitivity, gluten free honey is nice for you. Simply do not forget that it accommodates a number of energy – round 64 energy in each tablespoon.
However sure, this pure sweetener has quite a few well being advantages. It has been utilized in wound care, wound therapeutic, and burn therapeutic. And quite a few research present it has antidepressant and anticonvulsant properties.
Since honey is full of polyphenols and antioxidants, it will possibly assist scale back your threat of sort 2 diabetes, metabolic syndrome, and coronary heart illness. You possibly can even put honey on a blemish to reap the benefits of its antimicrobial properties!
Is flavored honey protected on a gluten free weight loss program?
Flavored honey may be problematic on a gluten free weight loss program. Test the label for gluten-containing grains. Except it is completely important, you are seemingly higher off flavoring your honey your self as and when that you must.
Except for flavored honey, honey-based and honey flavored merchandise typically embody gluten containing meals. These may be salad dressings, honey mustard, or honey-flavored breakfast cereals.
At all times verify the label for gluten-containing substances. And solely purchase merchandise labeled gluten free if you wish to make certain of your security.
The danger of honey cross contamination
Cross contamination with gluten is a serious concern when you’ve got gluten intolerance. Select merchandise which are licensed gluten-free to ensure that the honey is free from cross contamination.
Take the identical precautions when dealing with and making ready the honey dish as you’d with some other gluten-free meals: this implies utilizing clear utensils and containers that haven’t been beforehand used with gluten containing meals.
By taking these further steps, you possibly can get pleasure from your favourite honey merchandise with out having to fret about any potential cross contamination.
Honey and honey merchandise are in danger from cross contact principally throughout manufacturing and manufacturing. If they don’t seem to be produced in a devoted gluten free facility or no less than on a gluten free manufacturing line, there’s an opportunity gluten particles might be current, so the tip product may include gluten.
If that you must keep away from gluten, it is vital to notice that, whereas native, unfiltered honey is of course gluten free, native beekeepers might be processing their honey of their residence, the place they could additionally use merchandise that include gluten, which might result in gluten particles of their honey.
Manufacturers of honey which are gluten free
If you happen to’re on a gluten free weight loss program and need to get pleasure from honey safely, at all times verify the label for gluten free certification.
On the time of writing, the next manufacturers provide gluten free honey. However this might change at any time, so at all times verify earlier than you buy.
- Nature’s Nate (licensed gluten free)
- Comvita (licensed gluten free)
- Greenbow Natural Honey (labeled gluten free)
- Beekeeper’s Naturals (said gluten free on web site)
- Sioux Honey (said gluten free on web site)
- Bee Concord (said on web site that there aren’t any gluten substances and no gluten processed or saved in facility)
As a result of pure honey is gluten free, it is an ideal substitute for processed sugar in gluten free recipes. And it is an incredible taste when it is the star of the present, too.
Whether or not you’re keen on uncooked honey drizzled in your favourite bread or over fruit and yogurt, otherwise you need to benefit from the deep, wealthy honey taste in your baked items, go for it! Select from one of many gluten free manufacturers of honey and revel in.
And I’ve included just a few of my favourite honey recipes right here that can assist you in your honey journey:
Grandma’s gluten free honey muffins are a scrumptious and straightforward technique to get pleasure from a gluten-free deal with. The honey provides a singular sweetness that enhances the flavour of the muffins.
They’re gentle and fluffy, and also you solely want one bowl to make them. Take pleasure in candy honey muffins for breakfast or as an anytime snack.
Honey bread is the proper technique to carry the scrumptious taste of honey into your gluten free weight loss program. It is a gentle and fluffy quickbread that is full of loads of your favourite sort of honey.
Use a lightweight honey or get a richer hit with a darker honey. Serve it with a pat of butter, further honey, or simply heat by itself.
Does Manuka honey have gluten in it?
No. Manuka honey is gluten-free. Since it’s constructed from nectar collected from the Manuka tree’s flowers, it doesn’t include wheat, barley or some other supply of gluten in its pure type. Nonetheless, it could be contaminated throughout processing, so verify the label for gluten free certification.
Is clover honey gluten free?
Sure, clover honey is mostly thought of gluten-free. Since it’s free from any flour or grains, it needs to be protected for folks following a gluten-free weight loss program. However, as at all times, solely select a honey that is labeled gluten free.
Are Honey Nut Cheerios gluten free?
No, Honey Nut Cheerios usually are not gluten-free. The product accommodates wheat and barley, that are each gluten containing substances. Due to this fact, folks following a gluten-free weight loss program ought to keep away from consuming Honey Nut Cheerios.